Surrey Golf

Knockout Finals Day

Given the weather in the run up to the finals day, we were incredibly lucky with glorious sunshine gracing us with its presence.

Boys' Handicap 

Luke Chapman (Cuddington GC) and  Emmanuel Paris (Walton Heath GC) playing in the final of the Boys' Handicap Knockout were first to take to the tee. It was a closely fought match with Emmanuel finally winning the match 2&1.

The Christies Cup

The Christies Cup is a junior club knockout for teams of three open to both boys and girls. The total of the best 2 cards of each team will count. If there is a tie, the 3rd score will then count. If there is still a tie after the 3rd score, then a sudden death Stableford score playoff between the first named player in each team will decide the winning team.

The teams were as follows:

West Byfleet

  • James Mendoz
  • Finlay Salman
  • Josh Stimson


  • Pelle Fox
  • Luca Corlett
  • William Cornwall

As all finals should be, this proved to be a very close one. With the first four players in, the scores were tied, and it was all down to the result of the third match. Josh Stimson managed to secure 33 points for West Byfleet Golf Club for the win.

Thornhill Mixed Foursomes

Next out were the finalists of the Jill Thornhill Mixed Knockout, Marcia Denning and Wayne Holland from Mitcham against Hilary Wilmshurst and Paul Guilfoyle from Chobham. In this match, Marcia and Wayne were giving Hilary and Paul 2 shots, so all very close. The result went the way of Hilary and Paul winning 3&2.

Surrey Fives (West v East)

The Surrey Fives Final between the West and East Clubs saw West Surrey take on Richmond Park, teams as follows:

West Surrey

  • Steve Wiltshire 
  • Ashley Gregory
  • Adrian Girdlestone
  • Bill McCahill
  • Sydney Phillips

Richmond Park

  • George Taylor
  • Peter Malla
  • John Perkins
  • Brendan Sullivan
  • Bernie McDermott

The first three matches out were all very close and all won on the 18th hole, the last two matches went the way of Richmond Park and was enough for them to lift the trophy.

County Card Foursomes

The final of the County Card Foursomes was played between Lee Frost & Richard Prosser of Putney Park and Jamie Payne & Leigh Buckland of Addington Palace. The handicap difference in this match was greater than all the others, with Jamie and Lee giving Lee and Richard 16 shots. The match, despite the shots, was incredibly close with it all coming down to the last hole, with Richard and Lee victorious 1 up.

Kelso Hamilton

Last but not least was the fourball better ball Kelso Hamilton Final between Paul Danford and Doug Sterrick of The Drift and Paul Canary and David Ling of Reigate Heath. Paul from Reigate Heath was giving opponents Paul and Doug 7 shots and his partner David 6 shots. Being last out and playing a fourball better ball match, daylight was against them, however they managed to get round with the result of 3&2 going to Paul and David from Reigate Heath.

Congratulations to all the players, the finals were played in excellent spirit.

Our thanks to Clandon Regis Golf Club for their kind hospitality and to Terry Christy (past Surrey President and Chairman) who acted as starter, and Terry Casey (current Chairman) for his support during the day. Not forgetting all our referees for giving up their Sundays and to all the supporters who attended on the day.

West Byfleet - Christies Cup Winners 2023

Hindhead Golf Club - Christies Cup Runners Up

Luke Chapman and Emmanuel Paris

The Thornhill Mixed winners Paul Guilfoyle and Hilary Wilmshurst (Chobham GC)

Thornhill Mixed Runners Up - Marcia Denning & Wayne Holland (absent from photo) with winners Paul & Hilary

Surrey Fives Winners - Richmond Park GC

Surrey Fives Runners Up - West Surrey GC

County Card Foursomes winners - Lee Frost & Richard Prosser (Putney Park GC)

County Card Foursomes Runners Up - Leigh Buckland and Jamie Payne (Addington Palace GC)

Kelso Hamilton Winners Reigate Heath - Paul Canary and David Ling

Kelso Hamilton Winners with runners up The Drift GC - Doug Sterrick & Paul Danford


Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.